I like to use lists while programming

I like to use lists while programming

See the Big Picture while keeping track of the details

Increasingly, I have become a fan of using lists while programming.

  • Lists orient me to the big picture after a deep-dive.

  • Lists remind me of what needs to be done here and now.


When I've completed a deep dive on particulars and forgotten the larger context, I can look at my list to remember the Big Picture.

When I'm working on a task and experience a thought interruption about something else that needs to be done (or that should at least be looked into), I have a dilemma:

  • I don't want to forget about it

  • I don't want to get distracted by it

So I make an entry in my list and stay focused.


Although a list is very mundane, I find it invaluable. When there are lots of moving parts, a list helps me keep track of the details, stay focused on what I'm doing right now and to return to the big picture when I'm ready.


Lists are also the TDD way:

Canonical TDD as introduced by Kent Beck in Test-Driven Development By Example makes use of lists as the first step: "The initial step in TDD, given a system & a desired change in behaviour, is to list all the expected variants in the new behaviour."

But:

💡
The author of Test-Driven Development For Embedded C cautions the following: "Beware of diminishing returns when making a test list . . . When progress slows, you've hit diminishing returns, and that's probably a good time to stop working the test list and start test-driving the design."

💡
Hello, I'm Warren. I've worked in an AWS Data Engineer role at Infosys, Australia. Previously, I was a Disability Support Worker. I'm interested in collaborative workflows and going deeper into TDD, automation and distributed systems.
📆
I am currently studying C at Holberton School Australia.
🐴
"Holberton School Australia is a tech school that trains software engineers through a collaborative, project-based curriculum. Over the course of 9 months, our students learn how to walk, talk, and code like software engineers."